Essays on things fall apart chinua achebe. Things Fall Apart, by Chinua Achebe Essay 2022-10-05

Essays on things fall apart chinua achebe Rating: 4,2/10 538 reviews

Chinua Achebe's novel "Things Fall Apart" is a powerful portrayal of life in Nigeria during the late 19th century, at the time when European colonizers were arriving and beginning to exert their influence on the indigenous population. The book tells the story of Okonkwo, a wealthy and influential member of the Igbo tribe, and his struggles to come to terms with the changes that are taking place in his society.

One of the main themes of "Things Fall Apart" is the clash of cultures between the Igbo people and the Europeans. The novel portrays the Igbo as a highly sophisticated and civilized society, with a rich culture and a well-developed system of government and social organization. However, when the Europeans arrive, they bring with them a different set of values and beliefs, and they are not willing to accept the Igbo way of life. This results in a conflict between the two groups, with the Europeans imposing their will on the Igbo and undermining their way of life.

Another important theme in the novel is the role of tradition and change. The Igbo people have a strong sense of tradition, and they value the customs and rituals that have been passed down from generation to generation. However, the arrival of the Europeans challenges these traditions and forces the Igbo to confront the need for change. Okonkwo, in particular, struggles with this idea, as he is fiercely attached to the old ways and resists the changes that are being imposed on his society.

Despite its tragic ending, "Things Fall Apart" is ultimately a hopeful book. Achebe's portrayal of the Igbo people is one of great strength and resilience, and he suggests that even in the face of great adversity, it is possible for a society to adapt and survive. Through his portrayal of Okonkwo and other characters, Achebe also explores the theme of human nature and the ways in which people react to change.

In conclusion, "Things Fall Apart" is a thought-provoking and poignant novel that explores themes of culture, tradition, and change. It is a powerful testament to the strength and resilience of the human spirit and serves as a reminder of the importance of understanding and respecting other cultures.

Things Fall Apart Christianity Essay

essays on things fall apart chinua achebe

As numerous critics have observed, Okonkwo is at once an allegorical everyman figure embodying the existential paradoxes of the Igbo culture in transition, and a great tragic hero in the tradition of Oedipus, Antigone, and Lear see Iyasere. Religion can bring people together, or it can pull them apart. People have different interpretation of Okonkwo. Religion The novel entirely emphases on the construction of a society. For Nwoye will not be kept enslaved to Okonkwo's ways; he seeks release from bondage in the new religion of the white man. See Bottcher on narrator's distance, pp.

Next

Things Fall Apart By Chinua Achebe English Literature Essay

essays on things fall apart chinua achebe

We come to see that in suppressing his fears and those attributes which he considers a sign of weakness, Okonkwo denies as well those human responses of love and understanding which Umuofia recognizes as requisite for greatness. Ibo people found it difficult to understand those views since they beheld Christianity from a literal point of view. It is only in privateā€”and often in the darkā€”that Okonkwo spontaneously reveals the love and warmth he feels for his family. The point is that when Achebe comprehended how serious the struggle between religions was, he made a choice and stood by his Nigerian roots. As a result of the question that I mentioned above that is why I seek to understand if Okonkwo was a victim of his own culture beliefs or a villain as most people tend to believe he is. On the one hand, we see the villagers actively engaged in a spontaneous communal activity, such as enjoying a marriage feast, or in gathering and sharing the locusts, while, on the other hand, we see the rigid application of tribal laws and decrees of the gods which often deny and violate human responses. Igbo people are depicted by the author as having powerful social institutions such as wrestling, practice of human sacrifice, religious rituals, ceremonies, and family.

Next

Chinua Achebe: Things Fall Apart

essays on things fall apart chinua achebe

If at the edge of Umuofia before this last violent act, Okonkwo is now pushed outside his society. The second tattoo places emphasis on a sinister tree that symbolizes the evil forest. Actions could be unconscionable without ipso facto being offenses, and in the near-fatalistic world view with which we are dealing, we have unconscionable acts that our failure to execute could constitute an offense against the gods. My spirit tells me that those who do not befriend the white man today will be saying had we known tomorrow. Things Fall Apart, as many other literary works, has several themes, which become fundamental ideas to represent, analyze, and develop. Since Okonkwo did not make time to talk and listen to his family that is why he suffered alone if things went wrong.

Next

About Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe

essays on things fall apart chinua achebe

Much of the critical discussion about Things Fall Apart concentrates on the socio-political aspects of the novel, including the friction between the members of Igbo society as they are confronted with the intrusive and overpowering presence of Western government and beliefs. There was a case presented by Uzowulu who said that his in-laws had taken his wife away after having beaten her and they had not returned his bride price. The white man becomes the leader of their society, and new culture begins to develop. In the end, Ibo people had to abandon their culture and adopt a new lifestyle and way of governance as stipulated by the colonialists. They did this to please and show their gods that they still cared for them and in return they were put into shame in jail.

Next

Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe

essays on things fall apart chinua achebe

Undoubtedly, within the level of private morality, his action is unconscionable, but that does not necessarily mean that he has committed an offense. This strength of culture and value results in the creation of the protagonist, whose very ambitions would be rendered obsolete and worthless without the underlying culture that is made possible by this land. Conclusion The novel is exceptional because it depicts how Ibo people struggled and succeeded during colonization. This judgment of the ancestors on an action like Okonkwo's indicates that, although Okonkwo is an egwugwu himself, his insecurity and bad temper frequently lead him to act contrary to his society's values, even to the extent of endangering his people. In addition, Okonkwo had acted as guardian and foster father to Ikemefuna for three years.

Next

Setting in Chinua Achebeā€™s ā€œThings Fall Apartā€: [Essay Example], 864 words GradesFixer

essays on things fall apart chinua achebe

By killing Ikemefuna, therefore, Okonkwo has not usurped any person's role. That was not luck. Gale Cengage 2002 eNotes. Occasionally, the author used Ibo words to emphasize the proverbs. Because of the reputation and the friendships that were built by Mr. At one point, the people made fun of Mr. Okonkwo could take no more of this shame and some leaders of Umofia, so they decided to call on a meeting on the village Ilo to discuss what they are going to do next to stop the shameful sacrilege their gods and ancestors were suffering.

Next

Essay on Things Fall Apart, by Chinua Achebe

essays on things fall apart chinua achebe

A more important departure from strict oral procedure is the narrator's distance from his characters and his reluctance to intrude his views, for as Ong tells us, empathy and participation are elements of orality, objectivity a consequence of writing. We find that there were values in Umuofia which did not allow men to beat their wives. When it does not drive them away, and the Christians nurse the twins who were left to die, then conversion occurs. Egar explores how Achebe and other writers call attention to the plight of women in their novels. After knowing about it, Okonkwo gets furious and disowns Nwoye.

Next

Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe Essays

essays on things fall apart chinua achebe

Within this culture, the great value of yams, palm oil, and the kola nut are demonstrated as forms of wealth. In Things Fall Apart, it appears like things happen to fall apart at whatever point Okonkwo builds trust. Conversely, Nwoye is converted to become a Christian. A man can now leave his father and his brothers. In the dark, he rushes to protect his daughter from harm by Chielo; without thought, he rushes to save her from iba.

Next